Events in life sometimes have black pages,

this also applies for the tragic accident that

Erik Meijs became fatal in November 2017.


Erik Meijs was Dutch Champion (2017) in Men's Singles and aiming to participate in the Olympic Games 2020 in Japan. This tragic car accident ended his goal.


In memory of Erik the organization has created an Erik Meijs Award. This will be awarded to the most sportsmanlike player of the tournament.

The prize will be awarded between the quarter and semi-finals.

Winners of the Erik Meijs Award

2019  Mathias Thierry (DEN)

2018  Toby Penty (ENG)